Paso Perfect Wine

DSC_0066
{tattoos & tastings}

A few weekends back, my friend and I headed down to Paso Robles for some sun and relaxation. We knew that a little wine tasting was in our future (after all, it would just be offensive to venture down there and not visit a least a few spots) but hadn’t planned anything formal, knowing that with just the two of us, we wouldn’t need much of a reservation. Unbeknownst to us, it also happened to be the Paso Robles Zinfandel Festival which brought with it both crowds and a few winery openings.

After spending a leisurely morning sipping coffee and munching on omelets, tamales and braised pears (my friends grandparents run a B&B…and after experiencing the latter of those B’s, I think they should consider running a restaurant as well), we made our way to Oso Libre Winery and the opening of Brecon Estate.

DSC_0050
{cabernet vines at Oso Libre}

When I find something I like, I make it known (to a point bordering on what some might consider an unhealthy obsession) and then I proceed to consume said finding until I hit a wall of boredom or my bank account can no longer support my obsession…the second usually occurs first. Luckily for me, I’ve been able to maintain the love and the funds to fuel my continued consumption of Jack Creek (written about here and here) and after my latest trip down south, I’ve now added Oso Libre and Brecon Estate Winery to that list too.

Recommendations
Oso Libre Estate 2011 Nativo, Primotivo 100% Zinfandel
Brecon Estate 2012 Syrah
Jack Creek Cellars 2010 Estate Chardonnay

DSC_0046 - Version 2
{exploring the vineyards at Oso Libre}
DSC_0055
{live music at Brecon Estate‘s opening day}
photo 1 (5) 2
{view from Ann and George’s adorable B&B}

Leave a Reply

