Dandelion Chocolate

Give me the option of dessert and I will almost always opt for something with chocolate. I tend to bat for the dark chocolate team (70%+ is my happy place), but truthfully, I have a hard time resisting the sweet at all.

dandelion chocolate

As the Mission district of San Francisco is nothing short of an expert in attracting the trendiest of chefs and mixologists, it should come as no surprise that they are home to one of the best chocolate spots in town: Dandelion Chocolate. Upon hearing the latest buzz around this “bean-to-bar” factory, I knew it was only a matter of time before I tried it out for myself.

That time came this past Saturday afternoon when a friend and I ventured down to Valencia Street and spent the better part of half an hour nibbling our way through the many free samples. After the sugar high kicked in, I couldn’t stomach anything more than a coffee, which, having taken 5 minutes to brew, tasted almost as special as the handcrafted chocolate itself.

While I’m still mourning the TCHO Chocolate Factory’s impending move from the Embarcadero to Berkeley, Dandelion will certainly offer a delicious alternative. Much like TCHO, they also offer free tours (weeknights at 6pm and Saturdays at 11am) and various classes.

I’m already looking forward to my next trip back – after all, the Brownie Bite Flight isn’t going to eat itself.

Dandelion Chocolate
740 Valencia Street
415.349.0942

One thought on “Dandelion Chocolate

  1. Wow this sounds like so much fun! I wish we had something like this in LA. I love love the art of “tasting”! It is so much fun to try things you may never thought of buying. I also love diversifying my pallet with the variety of flavors that can be found in foods! If you hear about one down south please let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

