Baker and Banker

The ambiance had me at hello. With dark wood paneling, muted lighting, and rich colored walls filled with mirrors and chalk board paint, I felt like I was dining in the most intimate but comfortable of settings. I had looked at the menu before coming but tried not to set my heart on any one thing, on the off chance that there would be a special I couldn’t resist. While my choice came off their regular list, the man of the hour (it was a father’s day dinner), was lucky enough to snag the last order of that night’s special: the seared duck. His favorite, and now mine.

Here’s what we ordered:

Warm Spanish octopus and new potato salad, romesco sauce, crispy pork belly, Castelvetrano olives
Spring vegetable and farro salad, deep-fried farm egg***, La Quercia prosciutto, pickled ramps
Foie gras and chicken liver pâté, rhubarb and vanilla compote, grilled country bread from our bakery

Charmoula crusted Alaskan halibut, chickpea tagine, compressed apricots, almond cream
Watson Farm lamb trio, Gigante beans, baby carrots, artichokes, salsa verde, crispy capers
Seared Duck  Breast

Roasted apricot brulée, pistachio ice cream, apricot sorbet

After a three course meal of generous portions and a bottle of the Freeman Pinot Noir (I highly recommend it!), I left full and completely satisfied.

***I must find out how they made this. Absolutely delicious.

1701 Octavia Street, San Francisco; T:415.351.2500

Leave a Reply

